Official EP release show TBA. Join the mailing list for show announcements and free stuff.


Join our mailing list for the latest news

Kerosene Stars is an American rock band formed in Chicago, IL. The band is composed of Scott Schaafsma (bass, vocals), Andy Seagram (guitar, backing vocals), Yoo Soo Kim (viola, keyboards), Jim Adair (drums), and Tom Sorich (percussion).  
While the group is often labeled under various genres, the main focus of their songs is simple, catchy melodies on top of a solid backbeat.
Since forming in 2010 the band has appeared in many of Chicago’s top music venues such as Schubas, Martyrs’, Empty Bottle, (to name a few) and opened for touring acts from all over the world.  
The band has released an ep in 2011, an album (digital only) in 2014, and three new ep’s to be released every few months in 2016.

The Equal describes us as

"solid indie pop falling somewhere between The Shins and Pavement"

Click on the image to read more.

Burn the Evidence EP (Preview)

Although they may not be a household name yet, Kerosene Stars are no newbies to the scene. Songwriter Scott Schaafsma formed the quartet of well-traveled musicians in 2010 and their sound is notably influenced by British invasion pop with some lighthearted indie-rock sprinkled in. On their self-titled second album though, Kerosene Stars evoke a lot of classically American alt-country vibes. - Empty Bottle (November, 2014)